I’m On Fire….

We saw “The Boss” on friday. He came through town and wound up at the Rose Garden (20,000 seats). I am not sure if the house was packed- some of the seats weren’t available. If one WERE to measure success by attendance Bruce is doin’ alright.

But i don’t play those games.

His band kicked ass. (E Street!)…… I have appreciated the man over the years- but never have considered myself a huge fan. Not because Bruce doesn’t deserve it. “I’m On Fire” is reason alone to love him. I just haven’t had my full blown Springsteen Moment yet.

It is not hard to believe that I wasn’t sportin’ the head gear/bandanna stuff-

I did dance in the dark…..well, not even that really. There were a few fist pumps during Born To Run……I admit.

Bruce kept swinging around on the mike stand.

He was having fun.

It was fun.

Interesting tidbits of info: 

Bruce is pretty outspoken about the current administration, even mentioning something during the show about his joy in the changing of the guardor getting those pigs outta Washington- ok, perhaps I take some liberties here- Bruce kind-o mumbles…….I cannot remember exactly what was said -something to that effect. Ahem…..

I WILL report with full certainty that he did leave out Born In the USA (which, in my estimation has been co-opted by the very people wishing to perpetuate the slime in Washington with sound bites and spin. It seems this song has not been exempt from this “special treatment”. Cut the chorus out and play it over and over again and hearts well with pride. The song is really about the woes of the working class not really too happy of an anthem…maybe this confusion/mis-interpretation be why he left it out?  eh?).

He closed with an old Irish folk song first made famous by Pete Seeger (I’ve done my research). Check out the Lyrics to this tune:

American Land

What is this land America so many travel thereI’m going now while I’m still young my darling meet me thereWish me luck my lovely I’ll send for you when I can And we’ll make our home in the American landOver there all the woman wear silk and satin to their kneesAnd children dear, the sweets, I hear, are growing on the treesGold comes rushing out the rivers straight into your handsWhen you make your home in the American LandThere’s diamonds in the sidewalk the’s gutters lined in song Dear I hear that beer flows through the faucets all night long There’s treasure for the taking, for any hard working man Who will make his home in the American LandI docked at Ellis Island in a city of light and spires She met me in the valley of red-hot steel and fireWe made the steel that built the cities with our sweat and two handsAnd we made our home in the American LandThere’s diamonds in the sidewalk the’s gutters lined in song Dear I hear that beer flows through the faucets all night long There’s treasure for the taking, for any hard working man Who will make his home in the American LandThe McNicholas, the Posalski’s, the Smiths, Zerillis, tooThe Blacks, the Irish, Italians, the Germans and the Jews Come across the water a thousand miles from home With nothin in their bellies but the fire down below They died building the railroads worked to bones and skin They died in the fields and factories names scattered in the wind They died to get here a hundred years ago they’re still dyin now The hands that built the country were always trying to keep downThere’s diamonds in the sidewalk the gutters lined in song Dear I hear that beer flows through the faucets all night long There’s treasure for the taking, for any hard working man Who will make his home in the American LandWho will make his home in the American Land Who will make his home in the American Land

  The lyrics were displayed for the masses to sing along with, so that there was no mistaking the message. I am not sure of the connections I am making here- but I have a hunch it was all very intentional.

Beautiful intention.

Incredible performance. XOXO

Leave a Reply

